Back to Navigation

Latest News: 2018

Candidates for the next Treasurer of the Law Society of Ontario confirmed

May 10, 2018

At the close of nominations on May 10, 2018 at 5:00 p.m., the following benchers (in alphabetical order) have been nominated for the office of Treasurer of the Law Society of Ontario for the term commencing June 28, 2018: Ross Earnshaw, nominated by Susan Richer and Andrew Spurgeon Jacquel

Amendments to legislation make Law Society of Ontario name change official

May 07, 2018 Gazette

 Amendments to the Law Society Act  received royal assent today, making the “Law Society of Ontario” the official name for the province’s legal regulator. The amendments were contained in the provincial government’s budget legislation, Bill 31, Plan for Care and Opportunity Act . The 

Notice to the Profession Amendments to Family Law Rules (O. Reg. 114/99)

April 25, 2018

On April 23, 2018 , rule changes will come into effect to support the Ministry of the Attorney General’s e-filing service for joint divorce applications. On April 30, 2018 , multiple rule and form changes to support the new Child, Youth and Family Services Act, 2017, S.O. 2017, c. 14

Law Society announces 2018 award recipients

March 11, 2018

Members of Ontario's legal professions will be recognized for their exceptional career achievements and contributions to their communities at the annual Law Society Awards ceremony on May 23, 2018, at Osgoode Hall.

Law Society of Ontario appoints Diana Miles as CEO

March 08, 2018

Convocation, the Law Society's governing body, approved Ms. Miles' appointment this morning at a special meeting.

Law Society appoints Marilyn Marshall as new Complaints Resolution Commissioner

February 28, 2018

The Law Society of Ontario has appointed Marilyn Marshall as its new Complaints Resolution Commissioner. Ms. Marshall will serve a two-year term, beginning on April 1, 2018.  

<   1 2 3 4  >
Terms or Concepts Explained