Back to Navigation

The William J. Simpson Distinguished Paralegal Award

The Distinguished Paralegal Award was created in 2011 and renamed in 2014 in honour of William J. Simpson, to recognize a paralegal who has demonstrated one or more of the following criteria:

  • outstanding professional achievement;
  • contribution to the development of the profession;
  • devotion to professional duties;
  • adherence to best practices and mentoring of others in best practices;
  • a history of community service;
  • personal character that brings credit to the paralegal profession.

2019 recipient

Jennifer Gravel Vanasse is the recipient of the 2019 William J. Simpson Distinguished Paralegal Award.

Licensed in 2008, Jennifer Gravel Vanasse has demonstrated exceptional skill and commitment to her profession. Having worked at Vice Hunter LLP in Ottawa since 1988, she has demonstrated the utmost devotion to the firm and its clients. She has contributed to the development of the paralegal profession through her long-standing involvement with the Paralegal Committee of the Carleton County Law Association, and through her mentoring of paralegal students and other licensees.

2018 recipient

Harry D. Fine is the recipient of the 2018 William J. Simpson Distinguished Paralegal Award.

Licensed in 2008, Mr. Fine served as an adjudicator at the Ontario Rental Housing Tribunal. At the end of his term, he opened a private practice providing legal services as a paralegal. He has taught a variety of paralegal courses at various community colleges and has served as a director of both the Paralegal Society of Ontario and the Ontario Paralegal Association. He has also volunteered as president of the Landlord’s Self-Help Centre.

Past recipients

Edwarda De Oliveira Castro, 2017
John Tzanis, 2016
W. Paul Dray, 2015
Paula Stamp, 2014
Elaine Page, 2013
Brian J. Lawrie, 2012