Back to Navigation

The Laura Legge Award

Laura LeggeThe Laura Legge Award recognizes women lawyers from Ontario who have exemplified leadership within the profession.

The award was established in 2007 in honour of the late Laura Legge, OOnt, QC, the first woman ever elected as a bencher of the Law Society and the first woman to serve as Treasurer.

2019 recipient

Pamela Cross is the 2019 Laura Legge Award recipient.

Called to the Bar in 1994, Pamela Cross has demonstrated extraordinary achievement and leadership in the advancement of women’s equality in Canada. For over 25 years, Ms. Cross has worked tirelessly as a lawyer, researcher, teacher, writer, public speaker, mentor, trainer and activist, to explain and challenge how the law addresses individualized and systemic violence against girls and women, especially in the family law context.

Past recipients

Mary Lou Fassel, 2018
Breese Davies, 2017
Lisa Borsook, 2016
Kimberly Murray, 2015
Susan E. Opler, 2014
Marie T. Henein, 2013
Mary P. Weaver, QC, 2012
Fay K. Brunning, 2011 
Crocetta (Chris) Gruppuso, 2010 
Janet A. Leiper, 2009
Susan Elliott, 2008

About Laura Legge

Laura Legge, OOnt, QC, graduated from Osgoode Hall Law School in 1948 after earning a B.A. and a nursing degree. In 1955, she and her husband established the still active law firm of Legge & Legge.

Legge served as director and chair on a number of high-profile boards. She was also the recipient of several prestigious awards including the Order of Ontario.

Laura Legge died in 2010.

Terms or Concepts Explained